WhatsApp will gradually stop working if you do not agree to its new privacy policy


With her Controversial privacy policy Effective this weekend, WhatsApp says it will not delete or deactivate the accounts of people who do not want to share their information with Facebook. “This update will not allow anyone to delete their account or lose the functionality of WhatsApp on May 15,” the company said in a statement. Support article Marked by Sleeping computer. Instead, WhatsApp plans to gradually restrict the activities Holdouts can access until a new privacy policy is adopted.

If this applies to you, you will have the opportunity to continue using WhatsApp as usual for “several weeks”. But in the end, WhatsApp will continue to send you notifications to accept its updated privacy policy. “You will face limited functionality on WhatsApp until you immediately receive the updates,” the company says.

First, you’ll lose access to your chat list. The app will allow you to message or call someone only if they first contact you and you tap the notification from WhatsApp. After several more weeks, the app will stop sending messages and calls to your phone completely. For individual holdouts the exact moment the process starts will be different for everyone.

Once you reach the second stage, your options will be limited if you do not accept the policy at that time. You can export your chat history or download a report from your account. You can also delete it, though WhatsApp warns that it’s something that can’t be reversed. In the end, it may not be very important. As part of a Individual policy, WhatsApp will automatically delete accounts after 120 days of inactivity.

All products offered by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, different from our parent company. Some of our stories include approved links. If you purchase something through one of these links, we can earn an approved commission.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *